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What is share.market ?
A discount-broking platform to give users access to wealth-creation opportunities in the securities markets. It has been launched in 2023 by PhonePe as part of its foray into the wealth-tech space, in addition to the Mutual Funds offerings it make on the native app.
Where is it available ?
Available as an app on both Play Store & App Stores, also as a website. Currently, operates only in India and open to only Indian Residents.
Current Status
share.market has 1.55 mn customers, 1.4 Mn monthly active SIP transactions, with a DAU of 75k (1.5 L Demat Accounts). It is pitched directly against Zerodha, Groww, Upstox, AngelOne as well as legacy brokerage firms. Hence, it is differentiating itself by offering an intelligence-layer along with intuitive UX and smooth execution abilities, which are essentially table-stakes in the industry (switching costs for users are negligible).
Want to invest in the markets but not knowing where to start ? Or you are already trading but have to navigate multiple platforms to decide what trades to take ?
share(dot)market is here - Make your investment & trading journey easier by combining research & convenience via an intuitive platform. We take the pain out by presenting you with well-researched baskets for wealth-creation, updated information on equity market movements easing your stock selection and detailed research on any instrument of your choice.
Stock Markets participants (novices to experts) are surrounded with information, news, data and noise. This make is quite difficult to arrive at buying & selling decisions. That's where Wealth-Baskets (right on below) come in - created by research houses for beginners, taking painstaking analysis & decision fatigue out of the way. For Equity Traders, who rely on multiple parameters, Factor Analysis (left on below) makes it easier by providing info in a visual format
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share.market offers multiple market related instruments to invest or trade in - Stocks, Curated Wealthbaskets, Equity Trading, Derivatives (F&O trading)
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Empowers users with Curated Opportunities across segments coupled with Intuitive Insights and smooth execution capabilities, effectively easing out the decision-making for market participants
a. Pre-created wealth baskets help make the decision-making process easier for Investors
of users, with intuitive in-app flows.
b. Pre-created collections of equities based on trends make stock selection criteria easy for equity participants
c. Video Learning Material for users on different aspects of the market educate new investors
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ICP Name | ICP 1 | ICP 2 | ICP 3 | ICP 4 |
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Criteria | Regular SIP Investor | Experienced F&O Trader | Active Participant in Equities (Invest/Trade) | New Investor |
Name | Raghu | Esha | Manoj | Ayesha |
Age | 35 - 50 | 30 - 40 | 25 - 45 | 20 - 25 |
Demographics | Male, Works at an MNC, keeps tabs on finances | Female, Works at conglomerate, Has time at hand to try trading, on lookout for good trades | Male, Works at an MNC, Interested in extra income from equities, averse to F&O trading, | Female, Started working, Thinking of investing to grow wealth |
Need | Wants access to MFs to best-performing MFs | A platform for hassle-free execution ; F&O data collated in one place | Signals to buy/sell equities ; Good to Own Equities | Build knowledge along with starting investing journey |
Pain Point | ​Multiple Platforms ; Unable to zero down on choices | Need to visit multiple platforms to arrive at watchlists to trade | Need to visit multiple platforms to arrive at watchlists to trade based on predefined criteria | Hesitant to put real money into market ; Do not know which Instrument is ideal to start with |
Solution | Offer pre-created MF-like baskets | Offer platform with All-in-One capabilities (Option Chains, Charts, Buy, Sell, PnL) | Offer Filters based on multiple criteria, charting abilities, | Offer Edu content and pre-created baskets to hand-hold towards investments |
Frequency of use case | Monthly | Daily | Daily | Weekly |
How else they stay connected to market | YouTube, ET, HT, MoneyControl | Twitter, Telegram, Sensibull | TickerTape, X, StockEdge, Telegram, YouTube | YouTube, Moneycontrol |
What they do on above channels | Use them to help make optimize choices for investments | Part of Telegram groups for Trade Ideas | Follows Telegram Groups, finfluencers on X and YouTube for Ideas | Prefers to learn about trading & investing via videos |
Top social media apps | WhatsApp, Linkedin | Instagram, LinkedIn, WhatsApp | LinkedIn, Whatsapp, Telegram, YouTube, | Instagram, Facebook, Shorts, WhatsApp |
Fintech Apps | GPay, Cred, PhonePe, | Paytm, PhonePe, Cred | Cred, supermoney, LazyPay, PhonePe | PhonePe, Paytm, GPay, Groww |
Perceived Value of product | Medium, as other options are there | Low, due to app performance | High, due to ease of researching equities & created collections for trading | High, due to limitation of choices through baskets |
Happy Moment | First Basket Investment | None so far | Investment done through factor analysis | First Investment in WealthBasket & Trending ETF |
Financial Behavior | Saves for Goals, Targets to save 20% of income | Uses Trading for additional income, commits large corpus to market | Trades for making extra income, typically enjoys trading analysis, keeps a certain amount always for trading | Looks to start investing, postpones several times due to lack of knowledge, can save 15% of income |
How They Spend Time | Family, Kids, Occasional Movie, Weekly Outing | Family, Kids, Weekly Outing, Travels for Leisure | Friends & Family, Kids, Weekly Outings, Travels for Leisure | Weekly Hangouts with friends, Short Trips, |
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We have multiple users of a product and not all of them can be our ICP for whom we make our strategies, we need to prioritize.
Criteria | ICP 1 | ICP 2 | ICP 3 | ICP 4 |
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Adoption Curve | Medium | Low | Low | Medium |
Appetite to Pay | Medium | High | High | Medium |
Frequency of Use Case | Low | High | High | Medium |
Distribution Potential | Low | Low | Medium | Medium |
TAM | ​Medium | Low | Medium | High |
Based on above Table, I will Prioritize for ICP 3 & ICP 4.
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Factors | Groww | Kite (Zerodha) | Upstox | AngelOne |
---|---|---|---|---|
What is the core problem being solved by them? | Providing Access to Securities markets through single platform & single-KYC | Providing Access to Securities & Commodities markets through single platform & single-KYC | Providing Access to Securities markets through single platform & single-KYC | Providing Access to Securities markets through single platform & single-KYC |
What are the products/features/services being offered? | Mutual Funds, Equity, F&O, IPO | Equity, F&O, IPO, Commodities | Equity, F&O, IPO, Mutual Funds, ETFs | Equity, F&O, IPO, Mutual Funds, ETFs |
GTM Strategy | Start with Mutual Fund distribution and graduate users towards Equities, Own MF offerings and F&O | Created to cater primarily to Traders, as they have high activity on platform | Zero Brokerage on delivery trades is used as hook, to attract equity investors | Zero Brokerage on delivery trades is used as hook, along with discounts on F&O Trades |
What channels do they use? | Paid Ads (Social, YouTube, OTTs), Content Loops, WOM | WOM, Referrals | Referrals, Paid Ads (YouTube, OTTs, Newspapers) | Referrals, Paid Ads (YouTube, OTTs, Newspapers) |
What pricing model do they operate on? | Charges on per trade basis + Annual Charges | Charges on per trade basis + Annual Charges | Charges on per trade basis + Annual Charges | Charges on per trade basis + Annual Charges |
How have they raised funding? | Private Equity | Self-funded | Private Equity | Self-Funded |
Brand Positioning | Friendly for Beginners | Best option for experienced market participants | Well suited for traders | Good option for experienced market participants |
UX Evaluation | Very Good | Very Good | Good | Good |
What is your product’s Right to Win? | Capable of handholding new investors by offering pre-created baskets | Capable of offering all trading-related data on single platform | Easy pre-made equity collections to make filtering criteria easy for equity participants | Easy pre-made equity collections to make filtering criteria easy for equity participants |
What can you learn from them? | Targeted new & casual investors towards MFs | Targeted needs of Traders, who typically navigate multiple platforms for research before placing a trade | ​ | Banking on its legacy as broker for 25 years |
(then try to understand the market at a macro level and evaluate the trends and tailwinds/headwinds.)
Now it’s time for some math, calculate the size of your market.
TAM = Total no. of potential customers + Total no. of Existing Customers (80 Mn)​
From above funnel, we can see a 25 Mn population which can invest, but is not doing so currently.
At present, India has 50 Mn retail investors spread across various platforms.
TAM = 70 Mn + 50 Mn = 120 Mn
SAM = TAM x Target Market Segment (percentage of the total market)
​ Target Market : ICP-3 (10%) + ICP-4 (10%) of 120 Mn = 25 Mn
SOM = SAM x Market Penetration/Share
= 25 Mn x 35% = 8.75 Mn
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Channel Name | Cost | Flexibility | Effort | Speed | Scale | Budget |
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Organic | ​Low | High | Medium | Medium | High | Medium |
Paid Ads | Medium | High | Medium | High | Medium | Medium |
Referral Program | Medium | High | Low | High | Medium | Low |
Product Integration | Medium | Low | High | Low | Medium | Medium |
Content Loops | Medium | Medium | High | Low | Low | ​High |
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Existing Search Channels
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Type of search | Keyword | Search volume (avg monthly) | Difficulty to rank on seo | Avg cost per click | Projected CTR | Cost per website/app land | App Download conversion rate | App SignUp Rate | Demat Account Open Rate | Cost per activated user | New Users Activated | Remarks |
Use case | how to start investing in mutual funds | 110000 | 18 | 89.33 | 30.00% | 298 | 75% | 60% | 40% | 1654 | 5.4 | This is how new investors search for. Optimizing share.market for this term will bring new investors into the fold. |
Competitor | angelone | 435060 | 42 | 110.86 | 65% | 171 | 70% | 60% | 40% | 1015 | 10.92 | ​ |
Your product | wealthbasket | 32000 | 32 | 152.4 | 60% | 254 | 60% | 70% | 40% | 1512 | 10.08 | search volumes are low, but intent is high |
Your brand name | share.market | 29560 | 38 | 169.8 | 60% | 283 | 80% | 70% | 40% | 1263 | 13.44 | search intent is very specific, user may have heard of the brand from someone or somewhere |
Optimize share.market for keyword search of 'how to start investing in mutual funds'.
One way to do this is fix backlinks on share.market page explaining the complexities of investing in mutual funds and providing WealthBaskets as an easier alternative.
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LTV Calculations :
Type of Activity on Platform | Charges | % of Users | Weekly Trades | Weekly Rev. | Annual Rev (User trades for only 40 weeks a year) |
Annual Membership | 200 | 100 | 200 | ||
Equity Delivery Trade | 20 | 40% | 2 | 40 | 1600 |
F&O Trade | 40 | 25% | 1 | 40 | 1600 |
Equity Intraday | 40 | 25% | 2 | 80 | 3200 |
Wealthbasket | 0 | 50% | 1 | 0 | 0 |
​ | There will be overlap of types of investors due to them doing multiple activities. | Total | 6600 | ||
Approx. Life (Years) | 2 | ||||
​ | LTV | 13200 |
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Channel | Avg cost per click | Projected Click through rate | Cost per app download land | App Download conversion rate | App SignUp Rate | Demat Account Open Rate | Cost per activated user | Remark |
YouTube | 8.5 | 7% | 121.4285714 | 25% | 40% | 30% | 4047.62 | ​ |
LTV : CAC = 13,200/4047.6 = 3.26
In theory, Paid Ads on YouTube towards quality users (ICPs 3 & 4) can give a favorable LTV:CAC ratio (> 3), hence this channel can be pursued for user acquisition.
Matching Channel with the ICP : (our chosen ICPs hang out on YouTube !!!)
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(Understand, where does organic intent for your product begin?)
Hence, I am holding on product integrations for now as an acquisition channel.
During the UX Research, it was revealed that new investors feel empowered when they have made their first investment on the platform. The trigger is low amount decision-making involved and the smooth execution process. Since a new investor will not be making another investment for quite some time, we can use this trigger to help acquire new users through referral.
The Incentive : The platform currency can be money directly deposited into users' PhonePe account (since it is a PhonePe product). However, this reduces the engagement that might have otherwise come by offering free brokerage upto 400/-. Hence, choosing 'free brokerage' as the reward for referrals.
Suggested Referral Flow​
If I were to acquire new users to the share.market platform
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